Beyond The Rules & the Independent Publishers Awards

IPPY Beyond The Rules

I don’t write to win awards. I write to delight my readers. But I have to admit, I’m very proud that Beyond The Rules won the National Silver IPPY. Why? Because the IPPY is a very special award. It seeks to recognize authors and publishers who take chances and break new ground. And that’s exactly what I try to do with each of my books. Hot, sizzling, explicit and daring plus a sprinkle of writing excellence? Explosive erotic romance.

Yep. That’s what I’m going for. :)

A.

 

Independent Publisher Book Awards Press Release

For Immediate Release: IPPY Award Winners Announced for 2018:

The medalists in the 22nd Annual Independent Publisher Book Awards have been announced, and they represent a snapshot of America today: a melting-pot of colorful, vibrant immigrant voices and cultural influences. Independent publishing has long been known for its dedication to diversity and gender equality, and this year’s IPPY winners prove that out, with over 60% female authorship among the winners.

Launched in 1996 and conducted each year to honor the year’s best independently published books, the IPPY Awards recognize merit in a broad range of subjects and reward authors and publishers who take chances and break new ground. Small presses, university presses, and self-publishing services give experimental and entrepreneurial authors a platform to share their stories, impart wisdom, and speak out against ignorance and prejudice.

IPPY medal-winning books will be celebrated on May 29th during the annual BookExpo publishing convention in New York.

For more: http://www.independentpublisher.com/article.php?page=2302

Beyond The Rules Wins Independent Publisher’s Book Awards Silver!

OMG!!!! Beyond The Rules, my latest erotic romance, just won the IPPY silver medal in erotica! 😍 I’m soooo thrilled! How amazing is that?

 

Congratulations and sincere thanks to the independent authors and publishers who participated in our 22nd annual, 2018 Independent Publisher Book Awards contest. Here are the gold, silver and bronze…
INDEPENDENTPUBLISHER.COM
So exciting! I’m doing the happy dance.
Image result for emoticons of dancing
Beyond the Rules-kindle
http://www.annadelmar.com/pages/books_beyond.html

Happy Holidays!

Hello everybody,

I’ll be on break until January 10, but before I go, I’d like to wish you a joyous holiday and a fantastic 2018. Those of you who subscribe to my newsletter got your present early. Hint, hint, you are missing out if you haven’t subscribed here. But don’t worry. Below is another little gift I want to share, from me to you, with much love.

A.

Anna’s Easy, Bubbly, Sexy Sangria

 Sexy sangria

 In our home, the holidays are all about family, about coming together to celebrate our blessings and have fun. We’re a global bunch and people travel from all over to gather at our house. There are lots of laughter and an excess of delicious foods. But the star of the evening is my Mom’s sangria.

Ingredients:

1 bottle of your favorite red wine

2 oranges

2 apples

1 lemon

1 tablespoon of sugar

1/2 a liter of Sprite or Seven Up

Preparation:

Begin with a bottle of wine. I prefer a Cabernet Sauvignon, but you can choose your favorite red. Hint: The wine doesn’t have to be fancy or expensive, just full-bodied and delicious.

Next, slice oranges into thin wheels and cut up a couple of tart apples into small, square pieces. I use a red and a green apple to add variety to the flavors. Set the oranges aside and marinate the apples in a half a cup of wine. You can prepare the fruit early and keep it fresh and cold in the refrigerator.

When you are ready to serve, pour the reminder of the wine into your favorite festive pitcher and add two cups of cold Sprite or Seven Up. Hint: You can adjust the alcohol level by playing with the wine to fizz ratio. Testing this ratio is half the fun. :)

Add a half tablespoon of sugar and mix well. Taste. Add more sugar if you like your cocktails sweet. Reduce the sugar amount by half if you’re like me and prefer less sweetness in your sangria.

Add orange slices and marinated apples. Add a few squirts of fresh lemon. Serve over ice if you like your cocktails fizzy and cold like I do. Make sure everyone gets apples and oranges in their glass. Garnish with orange wheels.

Special Additions:

Lots of love.

Your family crowding the kitchen.

Your honey nearby.

Tons of laughter.

 Happy holidays!

Happy holidays

www.annadelmar.com

My Interview with Blogcritics

Wounded Warrior Series

Hi Anna and congratulations on the release of your latest book, The Guardian.

 Thanks!

When did you start writing and what got you into romantic suspense?

I’ve been dabbing in writing for a little while now, but I only started to write romance a couple of years ago. Last year saw the publication of my first two romantic suspense novels, The Asset and The Stranger. This year, I’m celebrating the release of my latest, The Guardian.

I love romantic suspense. I especially enjoy reading it. The combination of action, adventure and romance is irresistible to me. The ingredients are exciting: Two flawed and complex characters struggling with their demons. An attraction that defies the odds. An explosive, twisting plot that takes place in a remarkable setting. High stakes that matter. Add to that lust and sex on the way to true love, and I’m hooked.

 What is your book about?

 The Guardian is the story of Matthias Hawking, an ex-SEAL turned game warden, engaged in a fierce battle to end poaching in Africa. When Jade Romo, a beautiful, stubborn, fiery journalist defies the poachers, Matthias will do everything in his power to protect the woman who has captured his heart.

What was your inspiration for it?

The Guardian was born during a holiday in Africa. It was supposed to be a no-laptop, no-writing vacation. But I get a lot of inspiration from my trips and this one was packed with inspiration. Tanzania is an amazing country. And who could resist the magnificent Serengeti as the backdrop for an epic love story?

What type of challenges did you face while writing this book?

The Guardian was the type of novel that pretty much wrote itself. After my experiences in Africa, it flowed easily onto the page. Matthias and Jade were a joy to write. But then came the editing and that took forever. Even after that, the wheels of the publishing world came to a grinding halt. Bringing the novel to market tested my resilience but also taught me a lot. I’m a better writer and a wiser person because of The Guardian.

Did your book require a lot of research?

Yes, but I was lucky. I had some amazing guides as I traveled through Tanzania, so I had a great head start.

What do you do when your muse refuses to collaborate?

Haven’t had that problem yet.

 Many writers experience a vague anxiety before they sit down to right. Can you relate to this?

 Nope. I can’t wait to sit down and write.

 Do you have a writing schedule? Are you disciplined?

 I write every day, rain or shine.

 How do you celebrate the completion of a book?

 By starting a new book!

 How do you define success?

Success is a state of the soul. It means you define what makes you whole and you’re committed to your own happiness. The rest is all hype.

 What do you love most about the writer’s life?

 The writing itself. It’s my sweet, sweet indulgence. And my readers. I write for them.

 What is your advice for aspiring authors?

 Write a lot, write now, keep writing.

 George Orwell once wrote: “Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout of some painful illness. One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand.” Thoughts?

 Orwell has a perverse style. I’m not sure I’d use the word “horrible,” but I fear he might be right. Exhaustion is par for the course and there’s a little madness in what we do. Or a lot.

What’s on the horizon for you?

I’m working on a brand new series that I’m really excited about. I also have several new novels in the pipeline. My plan is to hunker down for the remainder of the year and give my readers something new and amazing next year.

 Anything else you’d like to tell my readers?

 If you’d like to experience the majesty of Africa from the comfort of your favorite couch, if you’re looking for a thrilling adventure that will take you in a new journey, spice your day, and warm your heart, give The Guardian a try.

Interview: Anna del Mar, Author of ‘The Guardian’

 

 The Guardian-SM

Available now from Amazon and your favorite bookseller

T’s Interview with Anna del Mar

20664396_823481371147164_7206680492627542993_n

T: You are known for your bestselling romantic suspense. Why do you write erotic romance?

AdM: You are absolutely right. Most people are familiar with my romantic suspense novels, The AssetThe Stranger and The Guardian. But I also love to write erotic romance for my more audacious readers, novels like At the Brink, To the Edge and now Beyond the Rules.

My erotic romance novels feature sizzling, heart-warming romances and graphic, kinky, really intense sex scenes. But they also have a strong element of suspense, intricate plots, and characters who matter in and out of bed. Whether I’m writing romantic suspense or erotic romance, quality matters.

I write erotic romance because I think that sex is an important, natural part of our lives that should be celebrated, not suppressed. I’m always shocked by how we, as a society, continue to be so repressed and repressive on the topic of sex. We are constantly projecting sexual and sexualized images in all of our media and yet most aspects of sex continue to be taboo. Why? Let’s talk about! Let’s embrace sex in all of its positive expressions.

In my erotic romance, sex is a good thing–cathartic, transformative, healing; fun and panty-melting hot, but also meaningful. In the context of love, sex is a sublime subject.

T: Your latest erotic romance release, Beyond the Rules, is a ménage a quatre. Why a ménage and how was it different to write?

AdM: I love to explore sex and love in all of its forms. Beyond the Rules is a ménage that features three very sexy, brawny alphas and their mission to conquer one woman’s heart. In the story, Nina Leon is a brilliant hacker who crash-lands in the rugged mountains of Montana while fleeing from a deadly enemy and a painful past. She runs straight into the arms of three hot, brave, mysterious ex-SEALs who have an agreement to share everything. And now, that includes her.

Writing a ménage meant I had to juggle four POVs, four completely different characters, and four different approaches to life, romance, and sex. But, hey, I do love a challenge. I really enjoyed writing three very distinct alpha males, Tanner Vazquez, Aiden Black, and Zar Flint. I loved getting into their heads and understanding who they were and why. Each guy has his own set of strengths and weaknesses, traits and quirks. Each guy is attracted to Nina and appeals to her in a different way. And each man is eye candy in every way.

In addition, each guy has his own very specific sexual preferences. Aiden’s generally vanilla, Tanner’s flexible, Zar is all about kink. Variety only added layers to the story, fun, sexy, supremely erotic layers that caught this novel on fire.

T: How does Beyond the Rules fit in with the rest of your work?

AdM: Beyond the Rules is in the vein of At the Brink and To the Edge. The cool thing about all of my novels is that you don’t t have to read them in any particular order. If you’ve read the other novels you may recognize a character here or there, but you won’t be missing a thing. I promise.

Beyond the Rules-SM

Available now from Amazon and your favorite bookseller